Sunday, December 11, 2011

CONGRATS to Robert Griffin III and the Baylor Bears

2011 Heisman Trophy Winner

First-Ever Winner for the Baylor Bears (9-3)

AP Photo

The win by Griffin III was good for the game because it broke a disturbing trend of Heisman winners coming only from teams that were playing in the national title game. Since 2000, only Griffin III, Tim Tebow and Carson Palmer won the award from non-BCS national championship game participants.


2010 Winner - Cam Newton (Auburn)

2009 Winner - Mark Ingram (Alabama)

  • 2008 Winner - Sam Bradford (Oklahoma)
  • 2007 Winner - Tim Tebow (Florida)
  • 2006 Winner - Troy Smith (Ohio St.)
  • 2005 Winner - Reggie Bush (USC) {vacated}
  • 2004 Winner - Matt Leinart (USC)
  • 2003 Winner - Jason White (Oklahoma)
  • 2002 Winner - Carson Palmer (USC)
  • 2001 Winner - Eric Crouch (Nebraska)
  • 2000 Winner - Chris Weinke (Florida St.)
CONGRATS always to all the winners! And yes, even Reggie Bush, his shenanigans were off the field not on the field.

    No comments:

    Post a Comment