Tuesday, October 18, 2011

World Series Fun Fact

Getty Images
The 2011 Fall Classic is all set and ready to go. The two-time American League Champions Texas Rangers will do battle with the never-say-quit and 2006 World Champions St. Louis Cardinals.

As has always been the case, the Rangers-Cardinals World Series created an interesting fact that, I guess, only a stat freak would notice. I won't bore you with too much writing so here goes:

Since the expansion era began in 1961, major league baseball has added 14 teams. They are: Rays, Blue Jays, Royals, Rangers, Angels, Mariners, Nationals, Mets, Marlins, Brewers, Astros, Diamondbacks, Rockies and Padres. Every expansion team has made it to (at least) one World Series with the exception of the Seattle Mariners and Washington Nationals.

Expansion teams have WON 9 World Series: Mets (2); Blue Jays (2); Marlins (2); Angels (1); Diamondbacks (1); Royals (1).

Expansion teams have LOST 10 World Series: Mets (2); Padres (2); Rays (1); Royals (1); Rangers (1); Brewers (1); Astros (1); Rockies (1).

So in total, expansion teams have played in 19 World Series in the past 50 years. And now with the 2011 Rangers, it's 20 World Series appearances for the expansion fraternity.


What has NEVER happened, ever, is two expansion teams meeting in the World Series.

One of the original old-school franchises has somehow figured out a way to reach the Fall Classic every year since the beginning. In other words, all 20 appearances by expansion teams have been against one of the original 16 teams since the World Series began back in 1903.

Very, very interesting!

Getty Images
As for the Brew Crew-- they missed the chance to break the streak.

No comments:

Post a Comment