Monday, August 8, 2011

The Big Boys Are In Montreal

Getty Images
The world's top-ranked men's players are all back in action playing in the Rogers Cup (formerly known as the Canadian Open) in Montreal, Canada. This is the first time the Top 4 players are in action simultaneously since Wimbledon.

The Rogers Cup is the biggest tournament played in Canada and is a prelude to the upcoming U.S. Open.

For new World No. 1 Novak Djokovic, this is the first official tournament where he's seeded as the top-ranked player. World No. 2 Rafael Nadal is seeded second while World No. 3 Roger Federer is seeded third. Two-time defending champion and World No. 4 Andy Murray is seeded fourth and is looking to become the first player to three-peat since Ivan Lendl (1987-1989).

Since 2004, the current Top 4 players have owned the Rogers Cup, winning the tournament 7 consecutive years. Here's a look at how they've divided the cup amongst each other:
  • 2010 - Andy Murray
  • 2009 - Andy Murray
  • 2008 - Rafael Nadal
  • 2007 - Novak Djokovic
  • 2006 - Roger Federer
  • 2005 - Rafael Nadal
  • 2004 - Roger Federer
So which one of the Top 4 will win it this year? Or will someone else come in and spoil the 7-year party?

We will soon find out!

Oh by the way--

HAPPY BIRTHDAY! to Roger Federer who turns the big 3-0 today. While in most sports, at 30, a player would be considered in his prime, but in tennis, well let's just say, 30 is no walk in the park.


CONGRATULATIONS to Novak Djokovic on receiving his ATP World No. 1 Trophy. Djokovic is the 25th player to win the trophy since the ATP rankings began back in 1973. In other words, there have only been 25 players to reach No. 1 in the rankings-era.

AP Photo
How sweet it is!

No comments:

Post a Comment