Saturday, December 11, 2010

Cam Newton Runs Away With The Heisman Trophy


Click on image to view larger
 Some tidbits:

Since the creation of the BCS National Championship Game in 2006, the Heisman Trophy has been won 4 of 5 times by a player from a team playing in the title game.

They are:

2010 - Cam Newton - Auburn
2009 - Mark Ingram - Alabama
2008 - Sam Bradford - Oklahoma
2006 - Troy Smith - Ohio State

The 2007 winner (Tim Tebow of Florida) played in the Capital One Bowl after winning the Heisman Trophy.

Hmmm? Is there a pattern developing?

So what will the future hold for Cam Newton? Will he go on to become the No. 1 pick in the NFL draft AND go on to have a Hall of Fame career?

Um, the stats (as far as prior winners go) aren't in his favor.

Of the 75 prior winners only 18 went on to be the No. 1 overall pick in the NFL Draft and only 8 are in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The 8 Hall of Famers:

1. Doak Walker - 1948 winner
2. Paul Hornung - 1956 winner
3. Roger Staubach - 1963 winner
4. O.J. Simpson - 1968 winner
5. Tony Dorsett - 1976 winner
6. Earl Campbell - 1977 winner
7. Marcus Allen - 1981 winner
8. Barry Sanders - 1988 winner

Paul Hornung, O.J. Simpson and Earl Campbell are the only 3 winners to be selected No. 1 overall in the NFL draft and make it to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Talk about an awesome hat trick. The only other players that have a shot at this rare trifecta are Carson Palmer (2002 winner) and Sam Bradford (2008 winner). They are two-thirds of the way there but will they have good enough careers to make it to the Hall of Fame? Maybe.

As for the newly-crowned Newton, I'm sure that's a trifecta he would love to also accomplish.

But right now it's off to the national title game for him and the No. 1 Tigers.

No comments:

Post a Comment