Thursday, September 23, 2010

Ichiro Suzuki, Ty Cobb and Pete Rose

Congrats to Seattle Mariners outfielder Ichiro Suzuki on getting his patented 200th hit of the season.

2010 marks the 10th consecutive season that Ichiro surpasses the 200-hit mark, a feat that only he has ever accomplished.

Last year Ichiro became the first player to ever record 9 straight 200-hit seasons, breaking a tie with the immortal "Wee" Willie Keeler (r.) of 8 consecutive seasons. To put Ichiro's accomplishment in perspective, Keeler had his 8 straight 200-hit seasons, 109 years ago, from 1894-1901, so Ichiro, no doubt, is in a class by himself.

Ichiro also became the first player in American League history to total 10 200-hit seasons, breaking a tie of nine straight he shared with the immortal Ty Cobb. Ichiro has now tied the great Pete Rose as the only 2 players ever with 10 200-hit seasons.

Here's a list of the players with 7 or more 200-hit seasons:
  1. Ichiro Suzuki - 10 (active)
  2. Pete Rose - 10
  3. Ty Cobb - 9
  4. Willie Keeler - 8
  5. Lou Gehrig - 8
  6. Paul Waner - 8
  7. Wade Boggs - 7
  8. Charlie Gehringer - 7
  9. Rogers Hornsby - 7
  10. Derek Jeter - 7 (active)

But what separates Ichiro from all the rest is that he has been in the league for only 10 seasons. Every other player on the list has played at least 16 seasons, ranging from Jeter (16 seasons) to Rose and Cobb (24 seasons). In other words, Ichiro is 10 for 10.

A truly remarkable achievement.

Ichiro and Rose photos courtesy of Getty Images
Cobb and Keeler photos courtesy of The Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum
Stats courtesy of

No comments:

Post a Comment